Thursday, May 2, 2013

Help to link your Gypsy and Cricut Craft Room Cartridges




Here is a help guide to linking your Cricut cartridges with your Gypsy and Cricut Craft Room. Original information from http://www.cricut.com/home/support/gypsy-linking#howto   




ANNOUNCING GYPSY LINKING

We are pleased to announce that you are now able to link your Cricut Gypsy™ device to the Cricut Craft Room® design software! That means you can access all of your content, both digital and cartridges, on your Cricut Gypsy™ device and your Cricut Craft Room® account simultaneously.
Now you can continue to create how and what you want to. We know that the wait for these new options has been long—we appreciate your patience and are confident that you will find them worth the wait!

FREQUENTLY ASKED QUESTIONS

  • Can I unlink my cartridges from my Cricut Craft Room® account or my Cricut Gypsy™ device?
    • Once you’ve linked a physical cartridge to your Cricut Craft Room® account or Cricut Gypsy™ device, it will remain linked.
  • What happens to my linked cartridges if I delete my Cricut Craft Room® account?
    • If you close your Cricut Craft Room® account, you will lose digital access to the cartridges you linked. However, you will still be able to use all your physical cartridges.
  • What if my Cricut Gypsy™ device is linked to a different Cricut.com or Cricut Craft Room® account?
    • If you want to link your Cricut Gypsy™ device to a different account, contact customer support at 1-877-727-4288. They can help you unregister your Cricut Gypsy™ device so you can re-register it to the correct account.
  • Do I need to update my Cricut Gypsy™ device in order to link it to the Cricut Craft Room® software?
    • The Cricut Gypsy™ device needs to have firmware version 0232 or higher. If a firmware update is needed, you will be prompted to complete the update before you can link your Cricut Gypsy™ device to the Cricut Craft Room® design software.
  • Can I use the Cricut Craft Room® software without an Internet connection?
    • A high-speed broadband Internet connection is required to use the Cricut Craft Room® design software.
  • Can I change the email address associated with my Cricut Gypsy™ device to match what’s associated with my Cricut Craft Room® account?
    • Yes, you can. You will need to contact customer support at 1-877-727-4288. They can help you unregister your Cricut Gypsy™ device so you can re-register it to the preferred email address.
  • Can I link two Cricut Gypsy™ devices to my Cricut Craft Room® account?
    • Multiple Cricut Gypsy™ devices can’t be linked to one account. You would need to create two Cricut Craft Room accounts and have one Cricut Gypsy™ device linked to each account.
  • Will linking my Cricut Gypsy™ device remove my cartridges or projects that I have saved?
    • Linking your Cricut Gypsy™ device to the Cricut Craft Room® design software will not affect any projects or cartridges.
  • I’m trying to link my Cricut Gypsy™ device. Why are my cartridges not transferring?
    • Make sure your Cricut Gypsy™ device is updated to firmware 0232 or higher, is registered under the same email address as your Cricut Craft Room® account, and is the "primary Gypsy" on the account.
  • What is a "primary Gypsy"?
    • A "primary Gypsy" is the main Cricut Gypsy™ device on your account that will be able to share cartridges back and forth with the Cricut Craft Room® design software.
  • I no longer have my Cricut Gypsy™ device. Can I still link my cartridges to the Cricut Craft Room® design software?
    • Contact customer support at 1-877-727-4288 for more information.
  • Should I link my physical cartridges to my Cricut Craft Room account or to my Cricut Gypsy™ device first?
    • You can link your cartridges in any order. Because Gypsy linking enables your Cricut Gypsy™ device to link to the Cricut Craft Room® design software and vice-versa, the order is not important.
  • What cord will I need to use when I link my Cricut Gypsy™ device?
    • You will need the cord that links your Cricut Gypsy™ device to your computer (not the cartridge to Gypsy cord).
  • What if my Cricut Gypsy™ device is broken?
    • Your Cricut Gypsy™ device must be repaired before it can be linked to the Cricut Craft Room® design software. Learn more about Cricut Gypsy™ repairs here.
  • Does my Cricut Gypsy™ device need to be registered to the same email address I use to log in to the Cricut Craft Room®software?
    • Your Cricut Gypsy™ device must be registered to the account you use to log in to the Cricut Craft Room® design software.
  • Can I link my Cricut Gypsy™ device to my Cricut Craft Room® account more than one time?
    • You can link your Cricut Gypsy™ device any time you have linked a new physical cartridge to it or purchased new digital content from the Cricut Craft Room® design software.
  • Will images from the rental bundles I rented or previous free cuts of the week be linked on my Cricut Gypsy™ device?
    • Any content that has an "expiration date"—i.e., content that is part of a rental bundle or offered free for a limited time—will not be linked to your Cricut Gypsy™ device.
  • Why do I get a "Security Breach Error" when I attempt to update my Cricut Gyspy™ device prior to linking it to the Cricut Craft Room® design software?
    • If you haven’t updated your Cricut Gypsy™ device in some time, it is very important to follow the steps to link your Cricut Gypsy™ device in order. Do NOT connect your Cricut Gypsy™ device to your computer until the device is on the blue screen. Your computer will prompt you when and how to connect your Cricut Gypsy™device.
      If you are currently seeing a "Security Breach Error," performing a Format and Restore will clear the error and allow you to update again following the guidelines above.
      How to perform a format and restore:
      1. Disconnect your Cricut Gypsy™ device from your computer.
      2. Power off your Cricut Gypsy™ device
      3. Open the Cricut® Sync application on your computer
      4. Click on “Help” and go to "Troubleshooting"
      5. Answer the questions in this order: Yes, No, No, No, Yes
      6. Following the instructions on the right side of your computer screen, put your Cricut Gypsy™ device into format mode
      7. Connect the device to your computer. (The download should begin after a few moments)
      8. Follow the prompts on your computer screen to restart your Cricut Gypsy™ device on two separate occasions, and set it up
      9. This process can take 45 minutes to an hour to complete
      NOTE: You will not lose your linked cartridges during this process, but your projects will be lost

HOW TO

Welcome to Gypsy linking! Just follow these steps to link your cartridges between your Cricut Gypsy™ device and the Cricut Craft Room® design software.
  1. First, you’ll want to make sure you have the latest version of Cricut Craft Room® installed. You can download the latest version at www.cricut.com/home/craftroom. (If you need help downloading Cricut Craft Room®, watch the how-to videos atwww.cricut.com/home/support/video-faqs.)
  2. You’ll also want to be sure you have the latest version of Cricut® Sync, which is available atwww.cricut.com/home/support/cricut-sync.
  3. To start the linking process, you’ll need to update your Cricut Gypsy™ device. Connect it to your computer and power it on.Cricut® Sync will open and you will see an update screen


1.      You will need to update the Firmware and the Support Content in order to link your Cricut Gypsy™ device to Cricut Craft Room®, but the Cricut Imagine® updates are completely optional and do not need to be checked if you do not own a Cricut Imagine® machine. You can uncheck those if you’d like.
2.      Click on "Update Now."
3.      The update will be complete in about 5-10 minutes. You’ll be required to restart your Cricut Gypsy™ device during the process.


4.        Close Cricut® Sync, but leave your Cricut Gypsy™ device connected to your computer.
5.        Open the Cricut Craft Room® design software and log in.
6.        From the top menu, under “Options,” select “Link Gypsy.”


8.        First you’ll want to click on "Sync." This connects any content from Cricut Craft Room® to your Cricut Gypsy™ device, similar to digital content updating.







9.        Then, click on "Uplink." This will upload content from your Cricut Gypsy™ device to Cricut Craft Room®.


10.    To perform the first Uplink, you will need to agree to the terms and conditions.


11.    When the content uplink is finished, you’ll see a screen saying both actions are complete.
12.    Click "close." That’s it! All cartridges from your Cricut Gypsy™ device are now linked to your Cricut Craft Room® account and vice versa!







Make sure to visit

580538_Holiday Banner 468 x 60